Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I certainly agree that most nations must produce food for their population first before using them for trade, since there are several ways to improve a country's revenue, and the food industry should not be the one which takes part in it. Firstly, governments can trade goods and resources for improving their financial funds, but in the current situation where we are facing numerous global threats like deforestation, water scarcity, etc., there is a great possibility that in our future we will experience food shortage. Hence, it is vital to avoid trading food for a country's profit. Another important thing to notice is that the recent decline in farming and agricultural occupations. Most countries are facing this issue due to the reason that many people are choosing higher education and sophisticated jobs. Hence, given this current situation, it will be a risky business if a country ventures into importing food for reaping huge profits. Secondly, even in the present conditions, many governmental institutions are not aware whether the entire country's food supply is at the right levels. For instance, in India, there are many parts of the country where people are suffering from a food crisis, and the most quality products are imported to other countries first to improve their wealth, but the well-being of the citizens is not considered. Hence, I believe a country should utilize their other resources for trade and minimize their food imports, as food is the essential source for our survival. Shortage in any other resource can be solved by an alternative, but hunger will be a drastic problem.