An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more people nowadays are willing to take cosmetic surgery as an option to alter their appearance. From my perspective, this is a negative development and this essay will focus on the reasons for this change in human's notion as well as my opinion. It can be observed that with the high-pace advancement of technology, cosmetic surgery services have become more affordable and trust-worthy, besides, good-looking appearance is also a requirement in some jobs. Firstly, the new invention in technology and surgery have facilitated surgeons during their work which could not only increase the accuracy of the outcome but also cut operating time down. In addition, surgery technology could do some tasks more perfectly with an affordable price, so that many cosmetic operating sites have opened all over the world which gives people a chance to use this service at a low-cost. Furthermore, possessing a good-looking appearance is a requirement for being singers or dancers which could make the audiences’s first impression easier. Another reason why celebrities should be good-looking is that it could please watchers since everyone loves beauty. However, in my point of view, this is a negative development since patients have to pay a significant price for their health and audiences may miss some talents who do not possess a good-looking outlook and can not afford the cosmetic surgery also. Although the advancement of technology in changing human's body, it still has many drawbacks since substances which are injected into patients are continually eliminated from the patient's body because what the surgeon used is non-organic products which are not related to human's body. Moreover, some talents could be rejected because of their appearance and their financial problems which could lead to an inequality in society. Thus, the entertainment industry would be invaded by beauties who have no abilities unless their appearance. In conclusion, it can be seen that the advancement of technology and science have made cosmetic surgery more easy to approach while it is also a should-have feature of jobs. However, it has several disadvantages such as using non-organic substances which could degrade human's health and result in inequality in society. Thus, I believe that this is a negative development.