Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some people argue that undergraduates should devote their time and effort to their qualifications. In my opinion, however, it would be more beneficial if they are given the opportunity to add extra subjects to their chosen courses. On the one hand, spending time on specialized knowledge plays a pivotal role. Firstly, it is budget-friendly for students. Many universities charge students higher tuition fees for adding certain subjects to their degrees. If their budget is limited, it is ideal to focus on their qualifications rather than other areas, particularly for students who are economically disadvantaged. Secondly, focusing on a specific major can avoid stress and anxiety. While students studying additional subjects have to do extra assignments and are bombarded with countless work at home, learners studying a singular major have fewer tasks to do. With that being said, they have more time for social activities and interacting with people, all of which stimulate a positive mentality. On the other hand, I would argue that learners should take on extra subjects. To begin with, this action can increase job prospects. For instance, those who study tourism can add another language to their degrees. Being multilingual can help employees get a foot in the door in some travel jobs as some travel agencies are based in other countries and require that employees ranging from high-level executives to call centre customer service personnel have language abilities to respond to the travelling public. In addition, students can gain particular skills through interdisciplinary studies. Specifically, students gain more in-depth knowledge when they learn knowledge from various perspectives. Moreover, useful skills such as critical thinking, synthesis and analysis are developed as learners explore different viewpoints and compare concepts across subject areas. In conclusion, it is exorbitant to follow different subjects, and students can deter themselves from frustration. However, they can get an edge on the competition and become more skilful after they graduate.