Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not by local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Among well-known tourist attractions, buildings for cultural exhibitions and historical zones are always popular with both domestic and foreign visitors. However, they seem less attractive to the locals. The reasons for this trend and solutions for authorities to encourage more local people to visit these destinations will be outlined in this essay. There is a host of reasons why local dwellers refuse to pay a visit to museums and historical sites. The first reason is that individuals tend to ignore the presence of tourist attractions in their own towns, thinking they can visit them at other times. However, they, in fact, barely spend their time in these areas as they have a tendency to travel to other attractive destinations outside their zones. The second reason is the inhabitants probably have gone to experience these places before. They even grew up with the myths and folktales relating to these areas, which are no longer mysteries to them. Another account for this case is the strict laws introduced during covid 19 pandemic regarding limiting cultural events and festivals that distance the locals from their origins. That is why galleries, temples, pagodas, or ancient citadels only captivate tourists from other provinces and foreign countries than the local community. To attract their own inhabitant to the cultural and historical locations, local authorities should come up with several approaches. To begin with, the mayors should allow cultural activities to take place more frequently. After the covid-19 pandemic, it is time for the festivals to hold annually again. Besides, schools and educational institutions should organize more field trips for their students to travel to museums and historical places and learn about their own customs. These methods not only attract more local population but also motivate them to appreciate their origin and local identity. In conclusion, what causes native people disinterest in their own tourist attractions is varied. However, there are many methods that the authorities can apply in order to awaken the interest of their people in museums and historical sites.