Some people believe that modern technology encourages more sociable behaviour. Others say that this tend to lesser sociable behaviour. Discuss both views with examples and provide your opinion

Modern technology can give rise to both advantages and disadvantages. Some might say that it encourages more social behaviour, while others think it is the contrary. Because of modern technology, people can connect with other people that live far away with ease. Innovations such as social media, applications for matchmaking and chatting now exist to enable that. It has become easier than ever to find identities of people that live all over the world in both platforms. Most importantly, unlike sending letters via the post office, messages can be sent and received quickly. As there is no delay, people are now able to talk in real time as if the parties in the conversation are physically present. However, a drawback to using those platforms is that the users can spend too much time there and become less social with people around them. All of the platforms can be accessed through mobile phones or laptops, which are portable devices that can be utilised anywhere and anytime. This allows people to use the platforms at all times and engage with friends online more than they do with people that exist near them physically. Consequently, it might be said that these people become less sociable due to the existence of the online applications. In conclusion, products of modern technology such as social media and applications for dating and chatting can bring people to interact with one another wherever they live. In the contrary, it also encourage less sociable behaviour when the users forgets to be sociable with people who are physically present nearby.