Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new houses be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

The growth of population is unavoidable on this planet as many countries are experiencing a significant rise in the number of residents. Related to the housing for the citizens, folks are divided into two groups as one of them believes that new houses should be constructed in existing cities. In contrast, the other one is convinced that new towns should be built in the countryside. From the way I am thinking, I agree with the latter group as such an idea could generate more advantages. First, developing new cities in the countryside allows us to design and develop proper cities, applying all the most recent technology and knowledge. With that being implemented, we will be able to avoid problems we have encountered in existing cities, water and air pollution for instance. I believe this approach has been used in some countries in the world. Interestingly, some of them even created whole new capital cities from a total rainforest. As much as I am concerned, it turned in a very positive way. The second and main reason for me, is preventing big cities from being overpopulated. Most of the cities in the world are already home to millions of residents. As a consequence, there is a plethora of issues commonly faced in town, such as traffic jams and low employment rates. Creating new housing within the current city area and allowing people to live in it is just another step to worsen those issues. Thus, I am clear that this is the least-best idea to apply. To sum up, there are many justifications for why we should construct new cities in the countryside, instead of just building new housing in existing cities. Although it could be argued that the expense of constructing a whole new city is huge, I strongly believe all the benefits aforementioned easily exceed that disadvantage.