Today more and more tourist are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

With the advancements in air travel and a general rise in public awareness of beauties of the earth through media, more and more travellers are seeking uncommon travel places with unforgivable environments. This trend affects the local communities and nature in certain positive and negative aspects. In this essay, I will try to discuss these points and try to draw a conclusion from them. On the one hand, I believe that one of the most beneficial advantages of this phenomenon is the creation of higher job opportunities and the resulting revenue for the local people. The hard conditions of these places almost always lead to poverty in these areas which can be alleviated with higher-paying jobs. Furthermore, the higher publicity that travellers cause when they post photographs and videos of these untouched environments can and will force the general public to pressure their respective governments to put the preservation of these national treasures at the utmost importance. On the other hand, there are unfortunate consequences that should also be mentioned. For example, these habitats are so delicately balanced that one unforeseen act can bring havoc to them. The higher commute rate can destabilize the routine life of prey animals as a result of higher car noise, or disrupt their sleep cycles. Consequently, these species suffer and might even be extinct. Moreover, tourists might unwantedly introduce unwanted elements to these environments. Several instances of sickness introduction to the unimmune local populace are recorded in history, and several countries are now battling invasive species that have been introduced historically. To sum up, as with every modern phenomenon, there are several ups and downs to the increased travel rate to extreme environments. Improved job markets and higher income for local communities and better attempts at the preservation of these areas can be readily named as the upside. While nature might have issues with coping to the changes in the rate of commute or the existence of new species in the environment. I personally believe that this trend should continue and even expand; however, I am certain that preventive measures need to be taken in order to keep these natural gems at their best.