Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing shortages in big cities are a common issue we are facing nowadays. Many folks believe that only the government is able to solve this problem. However, from the way I am thinking, I do not agree with this idea. On the one hand, it is undeniable that one of many government responsibilities is to ensure that the residents have houses to live in. I am convinced that all the councils in the world, regardless of the region where the cities are based. I remember a friend of mine once said that in his home country, the executive prepared and constructed buildings to accommodate the citizens. I was blown away when I heard this and imagined if the government in my homeland do the same thing. However, I realize that there are other, arguably more emerging, issues that are faced by the government, that need to be solved first. So waiting for the government to singlehandedly solve the housing issue is not a wise move we can do as a resident, especially if we are not from the richest country on this planet. On top of the government, I strongly believe that other players also play the same key role in this issue, the private sector for instance. They can contribute to tackling the issue in their own ways. Whereas banks can help its customer get a friendly loan to buy a house, property companies could provide an easy scheme to pay for the houses. Those are only two of many examples of how private sectors are able to help. What I want to say is that only government can solve this issue. To sum up, I do not agree with people who think that only the executive can break down the problem as I strongly believe either government or non- government can help on their own, as aforementioned explanations.