The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Despite the importance of the US film industry worldwide, there are some that argue that Governments should help local film industries by investing in them. In my opinion, I agree with the statement and this essay will explain some reasons. The majority of the population enjoys watching films either in cinemas or on television. As the USA is the biggest film producer it is natural that it has a great influence on the film industry around the world. Many people try to copy or reproduce what they see in films. For example, I believe that many crimes are performed by having in mind some specific movie scenes and ideas. On the other hand, it is important for a country to preserve its own creative industry. Governments have the key to helping local producers by investing in their work. In this way, they are supporting their country's culture by helping them to develop and to show the world some customs and traditions that could lead to tourism increase. For instance, some local Spanish films, like one called "Ibiza", resulted in a rise of young people travelling there in order to get to know the famous beaches and clubs that the film related. In conclusion, the film industry has an important influence on lifestyle patterns. Personally, I think it is an intelligent way of promoting a country's culture. That is why I agree that Governments should help the local film industries to produce local films. It is a way of protecting its culture and stopping some kind of defamation.