Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternativeways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. Although many people believe that the best way to tackle this matter is to place criminals in prison for longer, other people disagree. In this essay, I will discuss both views and outline why I believe that longer sentences is the best measure to reduce crime. Some people argue that leaving criminals in prison for a long time means that they will be mixed with other criminals and this causes negative impacts to improve their character. In addition, some believe one on the alternative ways to reduce crime is community service, such as volunteer work. This gives an offender the opportunities to give something positive back to society, and so it may improve thier character for thier better future. The others believe the view that there are benefits of giving offenders longer prison sentences. One reason for this is spending a long time in prison provides an opportunity for the prison services to rehabilitate criminals. For instance, criminals who has committed a serious offence, such as murder or violent offence need a long time in prison not only to reflect what they have realy done but also to ensure they can be re-educated and not to re-offend. In conclusion, Although I discussed both views, I strongly agree with the view that placing criminals in prison is the best measure to reduce crime. There may be other way to re-educate and rehabilitate criminals, however, they should be commit the crimes they have occured and must pay for it no matter what as being in prison for a long time. So that they will not re-offend.