Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The high cost of modern drug treatment means people in poorer countries are frequently unable to benefit from it. I would argue that drug companies have a moral obligation to make their products available at lower cost to developing countries and, what’s more, that rich governments and people can help. Over the last few decades there was a dramatic improvement in medicine that changed the treatment of many life threatening diseases. Drug companies make money by treatment these diseases. However, the fact that people in poor countries are unable to pay for these treatments has created a very unequal situation. I think that drug companies have a responsibility to be more ethical and that they have a responsibility for addressing this inequality. They can do this by offering cheaper medicines in countries that cannot afford to pay the full price. This means that everyone can get the drugs that they need. However, I also believe that there are others who have a role to play in giving poor people access to drugs. For example, rich people could be encouraged to donate to charities to help developing countries. An example of this was seen recently when Bill Gates spent a lot of money and set up immunising projects in Africa. In conclusion I would argue that it is immoral for people to die because of inequality, Access to medicine should be universal and it is should be the responsibility of the richer companies, individuals and governments to ensure that this is happening.