Some people say that it is the responsibility of the citizens to take care of the environment. While others say that it is the government that should take care of the environment. Discuss both the views and state your opinion.

A controversial problem among individuals is who must take care of the environment care. Some people believe that it is the government's duty to save the ecosystem, while other people believe that the citizens must take a major part in caring about the environment. In my opinion, I believe that both citizens and government are responsible. To begin with, many believe that the government must be accountable for saving and looking after the environment. They defined this point of view by arguing that there must be very strict rules and punishments from the higher authorities for those who destroy the environment. For example, China has banned the poaching of animals by imposing a five years sentence. Nonetheless, if the government does not participate in caring about the environment, citizens will therefore tolerate abusive behaviours toward the ecosystem. On the contrary, some believe that the resident must take the role of looking after the environment. For instance, if individuals use eco-friendly items and take part in planting and cleaning the sea, it will be a major factor in caring about the environment. However, I strongly believe that both citizens and authorities are vital components in the process of carrying about the environment but each at a different level. Government must protect the ecosystem on the macro-scale actions, and citizens care about the environment on the micro-scale behaviours. In conclusion, although views differ on who is responsible for the care of the environment, whether citizens or government. From my perspective, both citizens and government are responsible.