Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether graduates should take courses that they prefer as opposed to taking courses that have practical values. While there are some benefits to studying useful subjects, I do believe that they can benefit more from learning what they find interesting. On the one hand, learning what will be useful in the future is advantageous. To begin with, the accumulation of practical skills requires time and energy. As a result, they need to learn them as early as possible. In addition, these college students are now in a dilemma in which they need to struggle to find decent work straight after their graduation with their negligible practical skills. Under such circumstances, they need to equip themselves with useful abilities on campus to compete with other capable candidates. Furthermore, these useful courses usually belong to the sunrise industry. If they devote themselves to this field, it would pave a better way for their future development. For example, they can get a more stable career and decent salary with this knowledge. However, it is more meaningful to acquire knowledge from the major that they prefer. Firstly, these graduates who choose their favourite major would have more motivation to learn this knowledge and try their utmost to make progress in those fields. Secondly, they would have more chances to apply for a job which aligns with their interest if they choose to learn what they like. For instance, those employees who choose a profession which is consistent with their hobbies would enjoy a higher sense of well-being in their life. Finally, when they select the job that they like, they can make friends with those people who resemble them in terms of their pursuits and aspirations. It also would help them make progress easily. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why people/individuals tip the balance in favour of professional skills, but I would argue that it is beneficial more from studying what they like.