Study show that criminals have a low level of education. For this reason some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or diagree?

Some people believe that education is necessary to reduce crime after the prisoner is released. The criminals will have a new opportunity to find a job instead of doing crime again. In my point of view, I agree that prisoner has to be given a second chance to improve their life quality by practical knowledge. The motif of crime is usually about the economy, for instance, how to increase their income and give their families needed. In contrast, the government do not give better job vacancy and free education for its citizen. Therefore, the number of criminals is related to the nation’s social welfare. For example, In Indonesia, there is many kidnapping since many workers are fired by companies because of covid pandemic. On the other hand, through practical knowledge, criminals might have a different point of view and new abilities to find a job. For example, during the prisoner, they might learn new knowledge to sew clothes and repair shoes instead of just having the same previous abilities such as being an illegal parking man who is also a kidnapper. Moreover, technology is shifting rapidly, so it is inevitable that some jobs will not exist anymore and a new opportunity is opened. Therefore, the country will have an extra worker from the prison with a new set of skills along with the industries needed. To conclude, by giving a new set of knowledge, the criminals might be able to live properly and have varied skills to find another job when they leave prison.