Some University students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subject. Others believe that it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Learning additional subjects in addition to the main university modules is debatable, some students believe it is important and others believe it is a waste of time, as the student should concentrate to achieve the qualification. In my opinion, prioritising the qualification is a must but adding additional subjects may help to achieve it uniquely, So I agree with having additional subjects. On one hand, learning new modules may be helpful in the long term. For example, if the main major is Law and you have an additional module about presentation skills or communication skills, it will affect your career in a positive way. Presentation skills and communication skills are important for the lawyer’s career path, who uses them almost every day. Although having additional subjects may help you to develop some skills that you will need in your career path, it may affect your progress in the main subjects and affect your attention to achieve the qualification. On the other hand, having new subjects added to the main schedule may affect the student badly. The additional subjects for sure need time and effort to study which will be taken from the time of the main subjects. Also, Choosing inadequate subjects may decrease your ability to achieve the qualification. Moreover, choosing a module about the modern arts while studying law is not logical, and it will defuse your concentration on the main major you are studying for. To sum up, to have additional subjects or not, will directly affect your future. If you decide to take the risk of adding more work to your schedule, be sure that these additional subjects will help you to achieve good grades for the main ones.