The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is suggested that the most significant objective of science is to enhance the residents’ quality of life. While I accept that the advances of science are responsible for making people’s lives better, I believe that it also has many other major purposes. On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why science should be used to raise human living standards. The first reason is related to its impact on global health. In particular, science can facilitate the production of new medicines or vaccines, extending human life expectancy and preventing many fatal diseases. Another reason is that science is crucial to the development of technology which improves many aspects of life. To illustrate, the advent of the Internet helps people connect to different parts of the world, creating more opportunities for education, employment, and entertainment. On the other hand, science should also focus on alleviating urgent world problems, especially climate change. If insufficient attention is devoted to this issue, it is likely to result in catastrophic consequences namely rising sea levels or more intense hurricanes, threatening the lives of millions of people around the world. Since climate change is posing a great threat to the existence of humans, scientists should share the responsibility for this problem, which can be solved in many ways such as finding a more environmentally friendly energy source as well as producing sustainable transportation. In conclusion, it is certainly true that one of the most important goals of developing science is enhancing living quality, however, resolving climate change should be also included owing to its unforeseen effects.