Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think they should only be allowed subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The era of Artificial Intelligence has come into existence. It is predicted that some occupations like artists will be replaced in the near future. Therefore, some educationalists might argue that teaching arts or other science-irrelevant subjects at school is a waste of time. Whereas some sociologists might claim that the literacy of history or arts is still required in society. I personally side with the latter idea but in the following essay, I will discuss both viewpoints. To commence, I believe critical thinking is the most valuable asset during education. The judgemental ideas can not only help individuals to rethink their decision but also empower them to criticise society when it goes wrong. This sort of thinking method is often provided by subjects like literature and history. For example, as the idiom says "History repeats itself", historical events give humans a vision to foresee the future through past experiences. Which is the perspective that the majors like math and chemistry can not even. Although industry workers might claim that studying abundant theories of technology can assist graduates in acquiring practical skills when they step into the workplace, the jobs that these workers currently devote themselves to can be replaced easily by new technology. Just like artwork will be replaced by computer-generated outcomes. In this ever-changing world, no one is able to guarantee which kinds of jobs will last. Betting on science and creating an unbalanced education system for kids is insensible. In conclusion, the fundamental of education is to deliver critical thoughts to pupils and to show them a way to overcome the difficulty in life. Despite the importance of scientific theories in this technology-led world, I think pupils should have a broad vision of learning instead of focusing on scientific subjects solely.