A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employees works from home, using a computer and the internet to connect with the office. what are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

Telecommuting has become the latest trend of this decade, especially due to the COVID pandemic last year. More and more people are opting for working from home rather than physically going to the office. Technology boon in recent years has majorly contributed to telecommuting. There are both upsides and downsides to remote working which is impacting all aspects of human life, whether it be personal life, professional life, and the environment as well. Remote working is advantageous in a number of ways. The main advantage for humankind is connectivity with their family while working. People can stay with their families in their hometowns and work and thus remain connected to their native lands. They do not have to move to metro cities anymore in order to get their work done. For instance, a survey conducted last year has shown that almost 60% of people would prefer to work from their homeland by keeping close to nature. Another biggest advantage of telecommuting is for the environment. As most people are working from home, they do not have to commute to the office and thus reducing traffic and consequently reducing the air pollution caused due to vehicles on the roads. In addition to this, since remote working has been adopted by major companies, they have vacated the offices which are not in use anymore, therefore, consuming less power and electricity which is helping to preserve our natural resources. With advantages, come disadvantages as well. With working from home, human interaction has been greatly reduced. In offices, there would be in-person meetings where different ideas will be shared. However, with remote working meetings are there, but the in-person experience is lost which in turn is affecting their social lives. Another disadvantage would be distraction due to family around, which negatively affects the performance. Staying away from family to reduce distraction is unavoidable when working from home. For example, activities such as a knock at the door or all of a sudden children start fighting, these situations cannot be escaped from while working from home. In conclusion, the advantages of working from home outweigh their disadvantages. It is because of remote working, that technology operations can still continue in the event of emergency. Hence, a growing number of people are adopting this, thus providing necessary facilities to their consumers all around the year without any interruption.