Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that university students should be taught some additional subjects apart from the main ones. However, there are opposing ideas stating that it is better if they fully concentrate on studying for a degree. This essay will shed light on both views and I assert that focusing solely on the important subjects is a better approach. On the one hand, advocates of adding other subjects to the university curriculum contend that learning those would give them more opportunities when finding jobs. To be more specific, studying more subjects allows students to widen their knowledge of various areas, which could be an advantage to compete with other job seekers. Furthermore, having a broad understanding would diversify their choices in their future career. On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that students should devote all their time and effort to achieve a qualification. Firstly, only studying relevant subjects would help students to have the best results in terms of their major. In particular, since they are not neglected by other subjects, they can have a more thorough comprehension of their field of study. Secondly, learning more subjects is accompanied by more tiredness and stress students may suffer from. Therefore, their efficiency would be reduced significantly, leading to unwanted results. In conclusion, it is understandable that students want to acquire knowledge of different areas in order to have better job opportunities, however, it seems to me that they would rather give attention to the essential subjects which help them to get a qualification.