Art classes , such as painting and drawing are as important for children's development as other subjects so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree.

I disagree with the above statement that art classes, such as painting and drawing are as essential for kid's development as other subjects therefore it should not be compulsory in high school. Firstly, children are already occupied with so many subjects, by incoperating painting and drawing and making it a must will put burden on them, they might not perform well due to too many subjects that they need to focus on. Art classes should be treated as a option rather then making it compulsory. Secondly, not every child is interested in art, for example painting and drawing, when children don't have interest then they won't perform well, they will be just doing it for the sake of doing things. Therefore it's better suited for extra-circular activites. Thirdly, it can be costly the materials used and needed for painting and drawing can cost parents quiet alot, the money spent on these materials can be spent elsewhere, looking at the cost of living which is on the rise. Lastly, there will be burden on the teachers as they will have to deal with many subjects, which will lead to stress and added workload on them, they might want to switch to some other jobs or quit due to pressure, as a result students will suffer as there will be no teachers for them to teach. In conclusion, I disagree with the above statement because it loads extra burden on students, children may not be interested in taking the art classes. Art classes can be costly for parents to pay for.There will be burden on teachers as they will be dealing with many subjects.