Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

In the 21st century, every country's major challenge is to upgrade its general public health standards. Many people advocate that by building a large number of sports centers the well-being of residents will be improved, whereas others argue that only sports facilities would not tackle the entire problem and other provisions should be encouraged. I completely agree with the latter statement and will explain it in the forthcoming paragraphs. Certainly, increasing the number of recreation centers would enhance people's health levels to some extent. But for the majority of people, it would be quite difficult to afford it due to their high cost. Although government-funded centers would attract more people to these clubs, many areas simply do not have enough spaces to have them built there. In a city like Mumbai, for example, where most of the areas are congested and it is highly unfeasible to build new centers. However, this policy will have a limited effect on upgrading the general well-being despite the government's efforts for making them free or affordable as some people do not like hardcore physical activities. One potential solution could be for the authority should impose high taxes on junk food, it will force them to go back to their regular homemade food, and this will result in better eating habits. Other than that, the ministry should run awareness campaigns among primary and high school students. So, they can start knowing the importance of high-nutrient foods and regular exercise in their daily life. These concrete steps will not only drive the majority of people towards sensible eating habits but also will make them get better with their physical well-being. To summarise, it is undoubtedly true that having a large number of sports centers will improve the citizens' health but it is not sufficient. In my opinion, along with physical activities, one should be focused on their eating habits too. Hence, overall health could be boosted by having regular exercise and healthy food.