Many manufactured food and drinks products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that health is negatively affected by food and drink with lots of sugar. Therefore, those products should become more expensive to reduce sugar consumption. Personally, I can neither completely nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. First of all, I partly agree that increasing the price of sugar products can decrease the number of obese people. This means that when sugary beverages like soda and energy drinks are taxed or priced higher than healthier alternatives like water and fruit juice, some consumers may switch to the latter to save money. This can lead to lower calorie intake, lower sugar intake, and better dental and metabolic health. On the other hand, I believe there can be some more approaches to help people consume less sugar. Firstly, public education campaigns and community programs can raise awareness of the health risks of excessive sugar consumption and provide resources for healthier eating. This is because people can be motivated to change their diets and lifestyles without having to pay higher prices with more information and support. Secondly, by requiring manufacturers to use more specific terms for added sugars and to display the amount in teaspoons or grams, consumers can be better informed and make more informed choices. For instance, food labels can be improved to show the sugar content more clearly and accurately. In conclusion, to help citizens to improve their health, besides making sugar items more costly in order to reduce usage, the government can also have several ways to encourage individuals to use other goods instead of sugar.