Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, in some groups of young generation usage of smartphones is part of their daily routine. I think the chief cause might be the development of social networks. I personally do not have a positive attitude toward the consumption of smartphones. Firstly, I personally believe there are several reasons for this event but I seems to me the effect of social networks is the decisive factor for increasing usage of smartphones particularly in this era. There are several tools and facilities in this type of app such as Facebook which encourages children to engage by that. Communication or share their photo with their friends or family are very easier through these apps. Additionally, they are able to follow the last news and post of favorite individuals such as star actors or famous football players. Secondly, in my opinion, the negative aspects of this development are far more because there are several health problems happening to them. Due to the last research by the Australia Institute, the majority of students who spend their daily time with mobile are prone to have some health problems such as blood pressure or overweight. It is clear that the amount of outdoor activity declines remarkably in this group of teenagers. Moreover, it is created many problems in their education. The wide variety of tutors usually have complained about the academic failure of students who spend a noticeable of their time by this device. In conclusion, I assume it is logical that the main reason for this happening is social networks. Although might have some advantages, I personally think the negative points of that are far more due to, rise number of academic failures of pupils.