Write about the following topic: It is believed that there is a negative impact of tourism on tourist spots which is majorly due to the behaviour of people who visit there. Why do you think that people behave badly when they visit some places? What measures can be taken to resolve this issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Tourism is one of the booming industries that highly contributes to the global economy. Moreover, with the rising popularity of the tourism industry people visiting various attractions are also proportionally increasing. Consequently, it is believed to have adverse effects on popular places. One of the obvious reasons for this is overcrowding which can be prevented by imposing strict actions by the authorities. In this essay, I will discuss the possible reasons for this issue and mention some plausible solutions to resolve the same. The major reason for tourist places having a negative impact is overcrowding. With the increasing popularity of various spots through social media platforms, the number of visiting individuals has skyrocketed. For instance, the pilgrimage centres in India are annually visited by around 10 million people worldwide. Due to such high demand, the temples have become a source of business and lost its cultural value. Moreover, tourists are known for breaking rules and regulations. Despite creating awareness on how such attractions need to be treated, people continue to exploit these places which results in degradation and disturbance of the area. Firstly, the most effective solution to the surging tourist population is, limiting their visiting hours. For example, if authorities reserve certain hours of the day for tourists this will not only decrease the crowd but also provide enough time for the authorities to preserve and maintain the place. Secondly, the governing bodies should levy heavy fines and take strict action against the individuals who do not obey the rules. This will help decrease the exploitation of the place and reduce the negative impact on such spots. To summarize, the two common reasons for famous attractions having adverse impacts are overcrowding and individuals not following certain rules. Such behaviour of the public can be acted upon by the government by imposing limited visiting hours along with strict actions for disobeying the law.