People should start to follow customs and traditions when starting to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation has made moving across nations easier. People are now crossing borders to study, work or meet friends and family. During their stay abroad, it is often advised to follow the customs and traditions of that particular region in order to understand their culture and people better. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons and explain why I am a proponent of it. To begin, following something new is refreshing, and we can use our time efficiently. Being away from home can cause a lot of stress and anxiety, however, one can avoid it by imbibing a way of life similar to the locals. In Poland, international students look forward to the monthly holiday called 'Fat Thursday' where everyone eats doughnuts on the streets to celebrate. It results in greater integration and mutual understanding, moreover, allows foreigners to settle in a new environment comfortably. Another compelling reason is to avoid conflicts with the locals. As expatriates are unaware of their usual ways of living, learning about the customs that are considered socially acceptable ensures a smooth stay on foreign soil. In Germany, for instance, it is illegal to throw plastic and paper waste in the same trash, thus, being ignorant of it can lead to legal implications such as a hefty fine. Therefore, getting aware of a country's social norms is essential for newcomers to fit in. In conclusion, I strongly agree that it is imperative for foreigners to come to a new nation with an open mind and adapt to its customs as it would allow them to incorporate themselves into society and avoid getting into unnecessary trouble.