Multicultural societies, where people of different ethnic groups live together can bring more benefits than drawbacks to a society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Diversity in a country is one of the most intriguing topics in recent years. It means a group of people from different cultural backgrounds are living together. Some people say that it is beneficial while others are saying the opposite. In my opinion, the pros outweigh the cons. Globalization is one of the main reasons for a place or a country to be diverse. There are various advantages to having a multicultural society. Firstly, people tend to be more understanding of one another. Citizens are more kind to one another maybe because they know that all of them are different and it is ok. They don't need to act as same as the locals. Rather, they could just be themselves. In Canada, for instance, the crime rate is very low despite how multicultured the country is. Based on their research, it is due to the diversity of the place. People understand and accept how different one of them is. Secondly, there are more activities to celebrate. People from different nations will surely celebrate their own events even if they are not in their motherland. For instance, New Zealand, which is a good example of diversity, celebrates different events from different cultures like the Lantern Festival, Diwali and many more. In this way, everyone would know and understand one another if they experience the different vital events in their home country. However, there are disadvantages as well. One of them is racism. In a globalized country, racism will always be present. There will be people who are against certain nationalities migrating to their country for different reasons. Another is a language barrier. People are used to speaking their mother tongue, hence making it difficult for them to learn another language. To sum it up, a diverse country will always bring out the best part of the said place. Different events and unity will always be there no matter where they come from despite the presence of racism and language barriers.