A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Recently, there has been a heated discussion in society about whether students should do unpaid internships during school. Some believe it benefits students, while others believe it does more harm than good. In my opinion, the advantages of doing internships during school far outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, during some unpaid internships, students can put into practice what they have learned during school so that they can apply what they have learned. It can help them realize in advance what they need to do to work after leaving school. In addition, they can learn about the hardships of going to work and the complicated social relationships in advance. They can learn to deal with the relationship between superiors, subordinates, and colleagues through this precious opportunity. This will help them find jobs more easily after graduation. They can also realize that the hard work of making money can also cultivate their thrifty character. On the other hand, some argue that these on-campus internships are not real jobs and that students are less motivated because they don't get paid. Moreover, the number of internships is limited, some students cannot get internship opportunities, and the internship time will be greatly shortened without playing its due role, and students cannot experience what they want to do. To sum up, the limited number of internship places can be solved by expanding cooperation between schools and enterprises. Other incentives can also be given to internship students. Therefore, I think the advantages of doing an internship while on campus far outweigh the disadvantages.