The signs of globallisation can be seen in any major city around the world with store franchises such as Starbucks and McDonalds everywhere you go. These companies are pushing small, more traditional businesses into bankruptcy. What are the arguments for and against globalisation?

The signs of globallisation can be seen in any major city around the world with store franchises such as Starbucks and McDonalds everywhere you go. These companies are pushing small, more traditional businesses into bankruptcy. What are the arguments for and against globalisation? There is an argument that local entrepreneurs on a small scale would be impacted by the globalizing mechanism. In my opinion, despite the fact that there are many benefits to globalization, some businesses would face its negative effects. The pros and cons of globalization would be examined in this essay. It is widely recognized that globalization can be a major factor in producing the world's developments nowadays, therefore, there are many advantages to it. Firstly, it can cause economic growth in some nations since a great number of money from foreign firms can be invested in other nations conveniently, and then the cash flow rate in those countries could be increased significantly. For example, KFC restaurants in Thailand can make an increasing consumption of chicken locally. Secondly, it can be accounted for multi-cultural crossing. Some cuisine cultures from a region can be presented in another region of the world. For example, Thai people can have opportunities to taste American fast food in Thailand. However, even though there are many positive effects of globalization, there still are several negative consequences, especially for small or local enterprises. It can be explained by the fact that globalization would bring international investments with a large amount of budget. This can directly be influenced by lower-budget companies in the country due to fewer competition capabilities. Nevertheless, KFC can also be a good example that other chicken restaurants could not compare to KFC branches in terms of accessibility, convenience and qualitative standard. Furthermore, the modern lifestyles of different regions can change the traditional lifestyle of people in the area, for instance, these days, there are many families that always take their children to KFC on weekends or special occasions, so those people would not be interested in fried chicken in the local shops. For these reasons can be evidenced that traditional and small businesses can be collapsed by the rise of globalization. In conclusion, I believe that globalization can return both merits and drawbacks since it can improve the internal economic rate, in contrast, it can also destroy some weaker businesses in the country.