Some people believe that schools should teach foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that primary school students should learn foreign languages as a compulsory subject in their curriculum. Despite the disadvantages involved, I am of the opinion that this development is generally more favourable. To begin with, there is a considerable drawback to teaching foreign languages to primary school students. The main one is it adds to their already burdensome volume of schoolwork. As these elementary students are always subjected to a hectic curriculum with the mounting of homework and in-class assignments, the addition of one more subject even makes them more difficult to study effectively. For example, the Japanese Ministry of Education recently attempted to incorporate English into the national curriculum for primary schools. However, this policy received a strong objection from parents because they complained that their children are already stressed with a heavy workload from other core subjects. On the other hand, learning foreign languages at an early age brings certain benefits to children. Firstly, they can be exposed to new and diverse cultures. As language is a defining characteristic of a nation’s culture, students can subsequently acquire a greater understanding of how citizens of that country communicate with others and how their society functions culturally. Secondly, learning a foreign language can assist in developing students ’ cognitive abilities. In doing so, they will learn how to recognize complex patterns and use critical thinking to make sense of the new knowledge they are acquiring. Hence, these skills are beneficial for a child’s education as they serve to expand the thinking abilities of the brain. In conclusion, while adding foreign languages to the curriculum as a core subject creates more pressure on primary school students, I assert that this approach has more merits because it can provide young students with new knowledge about foreign cultures and help sharpen their cognitive skills.