Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries which causes harm to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

Fossil fuel has been used by humankind as the source of primary energy for hundreds of years, but it is considered a non-renewable resource, which means that one day their reserve will deplete due to persistent exploration to meet human daily needs in various activities. There are some drawbacks regarding the usage of fossil fuels. First, as a non-renewable resource, human perpetual exploitation to fulfil energy needs, mainly in machine combustion like cars, aeroplanes, and factories will lead to the depletion of this type of energy. Secondly, they emit pollutant that jeopardizes human health and causes illnesses such as cough, cancer and the respiratory system. Finally, it endangers the ozone layer which has a function to protect the earth from ultraviolet radiation and in some cases leads to global warming acceleration in some parts of the world. The statistic shows that fossil fuel has contributed to more than 65% of the greenhouse effects on the atmosphere. These hazardous substances come from exhaust fumes of vehicles and plants due to human activities as mentioned above. Due to this condition, some countries encourage people to use alternative sources of energy which are regarded as safe for our planet, like geothermal, solar, nuclear and wind despite of high costs of power plant installation for the initial investment. This energy category is not only environmentally friendly, but also more sustainable in the long run because of its infinite reserves in our solar system, which means these types of energy can be replenished and renewed regularly without any worries that they will deplete in the future. In conclusion, I contend that alternative sources of energy are a positive development for humankind because it does not generate pollution so they will safe and friendly for our ecosystem and much more sustainable in the long run.