Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Most prestigious jobs nowadays require a university degree. However, there are employers that prefer candidates who come with work experience and the ability to communicate. A formal education enables young adults to gather theoretical knowledge first, whereas if they start a job first, they have to work their way up and learn those skills on the job. I think going through university first is advantageous and provides a safe structure for students. An undergraduate course would be good for people who already know their job preferences at an early age, or those who’d like to focus on an academic career. Some young adults, for example, know exactly that they want to help people and become a nurse or a lawyer. Both jobs require very specific knowledge that one can only gain in university. Even though it's not mandatory, most students enrol for additional courses and learn about human interactions or languages as well. On the other hand, some high school graduates start working when they finish school. Especially for people who have a hands-on attitude it might be a better way of learning. Some sign up for an apprenticeship, whereas others try out different short-term placements in order to understand what those jobs involve. Either way, working with a variety of people allows them to expand their social skills. Although real life experiences can be quite useful, I think a formal education would be of greater help for young people. In conclusion, university graduates are the preferred candidates for big corporations. However, there are some companies that go a different way and up-skill young people on the job. Both approaches seem to work, but I think that a university degree prepares young adults better for a successful working life.