In the past, many people had skill such as making their own clothes and doing repair to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? How far is this situation true in your country?

People with technical skills such as repairing broken chair and making new clothes for living were very common in the past. However, all those special skills are about to disappear now across the globe. In my opinion, there are a variety of reasons that makes this change. Firstly, industrialization was a factor that contributed to economical change. Because of advance technology, different kinds of machines introduced to the world and businessmen start to expand their business by using machines instead of hiring more workers. This makes fast fashion exists nowadays and gives customers many choices in chain stores and shopping online, and the company can sell clothes at lower price. Secondly, the living standard of people is improved compared to a century before. Many people had a big family with many children and they are also low income group in the society. Parents merely supported the basic cost of living, for example, food and water, and these families do not have extra money to buy clothes to each child and pay for skilled workers for repairing. And now, people with better standard of living, it is seldom for people to make clothes or to repair things themselves. Thirdly, a majority of pupils are not educated in a vocational training but the academic in today’s world. Many young people choose to study academic subjects such as science and information technology rather than to choose as plumber or carpenter. Therefore, we can predict that these skilled workers are disappearing gradually in the future. This situation happened in the rest of the world and also it is true in my city. As mentioned above, technology makes our lives in an easier way and there is no reason for modern people to consume much time and effort for these activities. Besides, the working pattern for the young people is also changing and some of them choose to be slasher as their career. In conclusion, those skills which are common in the past and now is disappearing in many parts of the world.