Money manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that sugary products should be made more expensive. One of the main reasons can be that increase in sugary products price makes it more difficult for people to buy sugar, which they will consider before buying. This means that they will replace it with cheaper sweet vegetables. Another reason can be that increasing the price of sugar will also reduce the price of sugary foods such as cakes and candies, thereby reducing the risk of diseases such as diabetes and obesity. For example, my friends drink 2 soft drinks a day and most of them are seriously overweight, they look very tired and heavy. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that sugary products should be made more expensive. Firstly, the increase in sugar prices makes sugarcane farmers unable to sell sugarcane. This is because the increase in sugar prices reduces the consumption of sugary products. Secondly, Increasing the price of sugary products will make it difficult for poor children to buy sweets. For instance, kids who are given 10000 VND will only get 1 candy instead of 2 like before. In conclusion, although more expensive sugary products will cause some problems, I’m convinced that sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar thereby reducing diseases such as obesity and diabetes.