In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

It is true that older people are becoming the mainstream population in many parts of the world. This essay will discuss the impact of this practice which would be beneficial and negative sides with the arguments in the further paragraph. To begin with, there are many merits as the percentage of older people increases. For example, aged workers are more skilled and experienced than the fresh hands, and the one company will undoubtfully benefit from those experienced workers as the new employees can absorb the knowledge from older ones without summerisation summarization, and contribute to the increase in profit. Moreover, children raised by their grandparents are proven to have distinct manner as grandparents are usually less busy and have more attention on tracking children's behaviour. On the other hand, it is obvious that the negative effects exist. One problem is that there will be negative impacts on the economy. As the proportion of elderly people rises, the retirement-age extension is inevitable. Since the old people are keen on solving problems relying on their current knowledge and experience, they are unlikely to accept new technologies and adapt to the latest management concepts, and unable to have working efficiency as high as the young men. Moreover, as the old people keep working, fewer chances are left for the new applicants, and a growing dissatisfaction on the society will occur, causing the society unstable. To conclude, the growth in life expectancy has some considerable benefits, however, I personally believe that its disadvantages cannot be underestimated and solutions should be implemented to help improve the situation.