In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom.Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays as the research on technology highly increased, the implementation of it in the crime field also widened. As a result, the government of many cities choose to install surveillance cameras in the city streets, parks, and other public areas. Some people think that those cameras will reduce their privacy when they are in outdoor spaces. In my opinion, as there are also some drawbacks to it, I believe that tight security will help to decrease the number of criminals in a city. The main benefit is that the camera will record everything in public areas, so when there are a crime happens, the police will have the evidence based on the videos recorded. It will make their job easier with video guidance. There are many cases that the police cannot solve the crimes because there were any evidence left. This policy will also be helpful for women who spend their time alone, this will reduce their insecurities about going out without a man or another company. Another benefit is that people with bad intentions may think twice before they execute their actions because it will be recorded. That means the crime rate will also be reduced. Before the video camera popular, police and security have to watch their area in order to keep their area safe. Moreover, with the help of a recorded surveillance camera, they could control through the monitor. Whenever they see something bad incidents, they will be able to handle it soon as it also makes their job more efficient. Turning to the drawbacks, the surveillance camera would also make people feel like being watched all the time. It could lead to freedom invasion for individuals. Some people believe that at first maybe the government just watched their citizen's activities, but later, they could also control them with several prohibitions which actually do not make sense. To conclude, as there were some benefits and drawbacks, the positive impacts of camera implementation throughout the city will help the police control the crime rates and outweigh the cons. Even though the people have to experience their privation taken away, in order to watch over the city better, technology should be implemented to help security work more efficiently.