In many countries people are consuming more sugar-based drinks than before. Why is this happening and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption.

In many nations, the intake of sugary beverages has drastically increased. In this essay, I will explore the root cause behind this growth and I will give practical solutions to curb the consumption of sugar -based drinks. Sugar has become widely available, in recent times, due to government policies. Sugar offers cheap thrills to users by stimulating the dopamine reward pathway which leads to recurrent use. For instance, a hard working construction worker chooses to drink soda because it is in every supermarket across the globe. Furthermore, because of the addicting nature of sugar, most people would buy pop consistently thereby reinforcing a bad habit. Hence, the abundance of pop is one of the main reasons for this trend. Although the availability of sugary drinks is one of the main reasons for this upward trend, I believe it is also the price at which it can be purchased which makes it a good deal for the customer. Hence, I purpose a tax on sweet beverages to prevent excessive use by the consumers. To illustrate this, blue collared workers will prefer to save money by drinking inexpensive water over buying soda which is double the price. In conclusion, the recent rise in purchasing drinks filled with sugar is mainly due to the excessive supply in remote locations and the hijacking of our biological make-up. That is why I believe introducing barriers, such as taxes is the way forward to decrease this unhealthy development.