It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people opine that having a better graps of knowledge about local history is more imperative than that about world history. While I accept that it is necessary to study about history of their own nation, I believe that it is wise to gain insights about the history of the world. On the one hand, learning about local history helps school children value their present peaceful life and and appreciate their ancestors’ effort more. To gain the independence as nowadays, each country had to surpass thousands of years in war fighting for its peace. The young generation need to know the events that lead to what they can have today. Therefore, they can feel grateful for the blood, tears and sweat of many generations to establish their country. Students will be fostered in themselves the appreciation for their history backgrounds and the love for their deep heritage and nation. As a result, they will be motivated to become better and carry on the responsibilities of protecting the boundaries of their regions. On the other hand, expanding students’ knowledge to the history worldwide is also of importance. Firstly, studying this provides children with a comprehensive knowledge of the world establishment. The sheer insights about their local history might give them biased knowledge. Looking at the picture as a whole will help young pupils to have their own judgement and justify which is right and wrong. Moreover, understanding about the world will facilitate young generation to become global citizen. A vast knowledge about the world events enriches their understandings of different countries’ cultural and historical heritage. This equips children with life experience to live in any country. In conclusion, it is certainly true that local history is of essence to study but knowing about the world history is not less important.