The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

By the present, there have been many concerns about the environment negatively affected to by human activities, and one of them is the consumer goods manufacturing. It is essential to argue how this manufacturing has negative impact to the environment and what should be done to restrict this impact. To begin with, consumer goods companies are responsible for the pollution. They try their best to reduce expenses to maximize profits. Because dealing with production waste is extravagant for many companies, they decide to skip this activity and emit them into the environment. There are many consequences of this decision to the environment. The majority of companies use fossil fuels as the main energy source and several toxic gases such as carbon dioxide, nitrogen oxide and sulfur dioxide are emitted into the air. Because of them, air quality can decrease, impacting to photosynthesis of plants and respiration of animals. In addition, many studies indicate that the three aforementioned gases are the main cause of greenhouse effect, resulting in global warming and climate change. Another concerning consequence is the gases can result in acid rain, destroying many species in nature. As regard to water, it can be affected by liquid waste from factories, including wastewater, sludge, oil and grease. Water species can die due to these pollutants or have to migrate to other habitats. To reduce these consequences, government should impose taxation on contaminating activities of companies and taxes should be as high as possible. By this way, factories have to consider whether not dealing with waste is still beneficial for them. If companies keep this behavior, they can face strict tax punishments, which can make their products exorbitant and affect to their profit. However, companies are not the only factor of environmental problems. Consumers are also the accomplice in the matter. Nowadays, there is a tendency among them that they use disposable goods instead of durable goods. For instance, customers are more likely to use plastic-wrapped paper cups, not conventional plastic, glass or porcelain mugs just because they want to use once only and then throw into trash bins. The trend is also apparent in using plates, people prefer the plastic-wrapped paper, not the typical plastic or the porcelain. Consequently, landfills will have to receive a great amount of garbage of disposable goods. The problem is the majority of these goods are made of materials which are usually difficult to decompose in short periods and toxic when incinerated. Therefore, people are likely to keep garbage in landfills. It is certain that land can get contaminated due to the consumption behavior of modern society. To restrict land pollution, government should impose taxes on disposable goods. Due to taxation, these goods ’ costs increase and consumers are more likely to restrict using them. By this solution, the amount of waste from disposable goods can decline. In conclusion, the production of consumer goods impacts to the natural environment through companies, by waste, and customers, by using disposable goods. To reduce these negative effects, governments should impose taxes on waste and disposable goods. Due to taxation, companies and consumers have to think again about the possible benefits and losses they have, indirectly reducing their influence on the environment.