Some people think that it should be mandatory for students to perform unpaid community service to graduate. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Community service among students has been an interesting topic in recent years. Some people say that it should be mandatory for pupils before they graduate while others are saying the opposite. In my opinion, it is reasonable for students to be obliged to do this effort for the community. To begin with, doing community service has lots of advantages. Firstly, it opens up children's minds about the real world other than their school. For instance, in the Philippines, there is a government program wherein they will clean the streets and plant trees in nearby forests. In this way, they would really know the situation of Mother nature which is not the same as what they see in their books. Secondly, this is a way of showing appreciation for the free education given by the government. Most first-world countries have free education. They get to study without worrying about their tuition unlike those in developing countries. This will be their way of saying thank you in exchange for some service to the community like doing feeding programs, charity works and other more. To illustrate, in Japan, schools would initiate to do programs for elders in aged-care facilities to show how grateful they are for the blessings they receive from their government. To recapitulate, it is indeed right to make community service mandatory for students before their graduation. Thru this, they will learn the reality of life and appreciate how lucky they are to be in school and also it will be a way of giving back for what the government has done for them.