Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinon.

It is argued by some university pupils that adding other subjects in main subjects are required. Meanwhile, others think that it is more significant to put their focus and time to learn for a qualification. This essay will elaborate both views and I believe that it depends on what career students want to choose for their future. On the one hand, studying another subject in the university helps student to expand their knowledge in other fields. It assists students becoming generalist people; it means that they will understand several areas but in sufficient understanding. Moreover, it also helps students who want to cross sector for their future job. For example, MIT and Harvard students can study in both universities for some elective modules, such as engineering pupils in MIT may learn one module business in Harvard. On the other hand, focusing energy and time to learn primary subjects is more pivotal for some qualifications. Medical students may appropriate example for this case, it is because they have to memorizing lots of theories and practicing most cases in their resident time. Thus, it is hard for them to allocate their time to learn other subjects. For instance, medical students in Indonesia need five years to finish their study to becoma a general doctor and then continue four years study to become a specialist. As a result, they use all their time to study, to practice, and to finish their assignment to learn one particular area. To sum up, learning additional subject is good for students who want to expand their knowledge in other areas and want becoming a generalist. In contrast, paying attention in a main area is more efficient for a particular major such as medical field.