The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is the case that thanks to the development of social media, a number of people prefer to keep in contact with others through social media instead than face-to-face interaction. While this tendency might bring some benefits, its drawbacks outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, there are some potential benefits for people who use social media, such as Facebook and Twitter to contact others. Firstly, it is convenient for family members or friends to keep in touch. Therefore, people living overseas due to their studies and work commitment can keep in touch with their loved ones by doing Facebook Messenger. Secondly, social media allows people to widen their circle of friendship. This helps them to post photos and to give comments. For example, when we do Facebook, thanks to our Facebook friend's account, we might find our old friends that we use to study together in secondary school. On the other hand, several disadvantaged can be anticipated behind this trend. One of the main drawbacks is that spending much time talking about online relationships may destroy our real conversations with those living near us. Real conversations toneed apply all our senses such as touching and eye contact. For example, when a person gets stressed and wants to comfort this, it is more effective for him to share this with his family or friend in person. Additionally, social media can bring danger to our personal information. A good example is that if someone can expose our important information through our social account, our bank account and personal details would be at risk. In conclusion, there are several advantages of this trend, it seems to me that the disadvantages are more than the merits.