In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, corporations promote their products and prefer to focus on the new in some way, which causes a heated debate that whether the advertisement should emphasize the new instead of their pragmatic effect. On the one hand, people tend to believe that new stuff is more advanced, and they are overall great for sure. For example, people think that the latest iPhone14, which is much better than the iPhone 13 in all sorts of ways. In addition, business owners facilitate themselves with psychological knowledge, they know it deeper than what customers need, which is beyond the products, namely, a feeling that they are superior to others if possess new items. For instance, a luxury handbag of the 2023 version, which fulfils the superiority complex of the buyers. On the other hand, new products do not mean more dependable, or more durable. Some newly invented items only exist for a few months on the market, and you can never see them again now. As we always say, time is the best judge, if a product cannot be tested over a period of time, the real quality is doubtful as well as side effects. Moreover, the new products have the tendency of higher prices, however, low in cost performance. From my perspective, I do believe that quality speaks louder, which does not must be new or the latest. The company should emphasize how their product can solve the problems of their clients when they promote the advertisements. Furthermore, it is our responsibility to report the products that mislead customers. In conclusion, advertisements can be double-edged swords, and whoever runs them, should focus on the real function for the target customers, instead of how new it is. The real advertisement is, that the products passed the test through time.