Every man has a right to proper healthcare. However, private hospitals nowadays are so profit-oriented that they are distracted from providing proper healthcare facilities. In your opinion, is this profit-making tendency a hindrance to proper healthcare ?

In this day and age, the number of private healthcare providers is increasing at a noticeable rate. However, as these facilities are businesses, it is obvious that their main goal would be to maximise profit. Therefore, the topic of whether focusing on financial aspects would affect the quality of healthcare is one which deserves some analysis. In my opinion, being economically focused would hinder effective services. Firstly, central to this issue is the point that private hospitals may prescribe ineffective treatments to patients in order to extract more profit. Many healthcare establishments that seek unethical financial gains can commit to the above-mentioned practice, knowing that the types of treatment they give to patients are not optimal, to prolong the process. In some cases, treatments might even have no positive effects on those who are sick, wasting their time and money. An example of malpractice would be selling placebos instead of authentic medicine. Secondly, high prices are another essential element of this case. It cannot be denied that private healthcare institutions usually charge significantly higher for their services than their public counterparts. As a result, a lot of patients might not be able to afford the most effective treatment available. In other words, these individuals would not be receiving the best programs for their illnesses, leading to protracted and wasteful treatments. Thus it can be seen that possible unethical schemes and high costs of treatment from private hospitals could considerably influence the quality of healthcare received by people with illnesses. Hence, there is ample evidence to conclude that profit-maximisation tendency will hinder healthcare.