Today food often travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only ate food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern times, the food people purchase from their local grocery stores comes from all around the globe. Generally, food options are not limited to the food produced by their local farmers. Consumers reap the benefits of this in a variety of ways, including being able to purchase food they would be unable to obtain locally and seasonally. Supporting your community by purchasing in-house is widely praised, however, the availability of many options generally outweighs such. There are certainly benefits of only eating food produced by local farmers from many different angles. This includes the elimination of transport methods that add to the increasing prices of food. Moreover, these additional transportation methods add to the ever-growing public health concern of air pollution. On the other hand, it is widely accepted and has become common practice for global trade to exist, thus to cease the import and export industry could have vastly negative effects on a country’s gross domestic profit. In many instances, it is cheaper to import and transport food than it is to produce locally. For example, New Zealand and China have a free trade relationship built on meat exportation. Over 1.05 million tonnes of lamb meat has been sent to China which makes up over 50% of lamb meat exports from 2018 to 2022. This example demonstrates that trade can increase overall food stability through a balancing act of food surpluses, consequently, it can be argued this also creates a more sustainable food system. In conclusion, the advantages of only consuming food produced by local farmers do not surpass the potential disadvantages. Although supporting local agriculture promotes environmental sustainability, fosters economic growth and stimulates innovation within communities, ultimately freedom of choice and availability trumps these factors.