The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that the top priority for scientists should be making the world a better place to live. This essay completely agrees with this view because better living may improve any other aspects and eliminate conflicts between nations. The primary reason why science should focus on the quality of life is that it is fundamental to any other field. Better living standards will consequently improve economic and health issues because society will be able to direct more resources to these spheres. For example, all the technological advantages of silicon valley made this place extremely profitable for the local economy and boosted the influence of the USA. The second main reason why bright minds should aim to improve people’s lives is the possibility to solve political conflicts. Most of the wars were started because of resources and natural treasures of the earth, which are crucial for any production. For the past decade, technological progress allowed humanity to be less dependent on oil and gas. As a result, many disagreements become not valid anymore. For instance, Japan owns a relatively small piece of land which has no fossil fuels at all, however, focusing on inventions helped them to become independent from traditional minerals and grow even on a small island. In conclusion, this essay believes that improving people’s lives is the most critical task for modern science because it affects other issues related to economics, health or politics.