An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops.What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping center rather than smaller, more traditional shops? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, urbanisation is gathering pace at an alarming rate. Various shopping malls and department stores are replacing local businesses. However, these developments have their own pros and cons. Firstly, the urban shopping areas provide large-scale employment. The construction of these massive buildings provides job opportunities to various people. For instance, labourers and architects are employed by the mall owners to help complete the construction. Secondly, malls and department stores also provide ease to customers as the majority of their needs are met under one roof. For example, an individual shopping for a table can also find other amenities like chairs, crockery and table cloth in the same complex. On the other side, there are major disadvantages. Numerous family-owned enterprises are being shut down because of stiff competition. To give an example, Ikea has put many furniture shops out of business in various parts of the globe. Furthermore, these malls cover large spaces and often lead to the cutting of trees for building purposes. For instance, the entire countryside of Amritsar is replaced by high-end shops which are at the cost of deforestation. In conclusion, one has to agree that it is imperative to strike a balance. The introduction of new shopping centres should continue but not at the cost of the local economy and environment. Effective checks and procedures should be put in place in order to preserve this balance.