Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society? Give reason from your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge?

Starting a family is an important decision that has significant implications for society. In recent years, more and more parents are delaying family planning. This essay will discuss the underlying causes for this trend as well as its effect on both, society at large and family in general. First of all, People are more focused on their career advancement and delaying their decision to have children. A study by Oxford University has shown that millennials on average, will delay the birth of their first child by two years to achieve a managerial position. The high cost of home ownership is also preventing young people from starting families. The Canadian government believes that the country is facing a deficit of 10,000 babies per year due to the high price of single-family homes. As a result, the combination of the high cost of living and focus on career development is responsible for the breakdown of the traditional family structure. The delay in the decision to have children is creating a generational gap between parents and their kids. Washington Post published a survey that showed 90% of kids do not share their parents' hobbies and passions. These diverging interests are responsible for the degradation of family life. Moreover, this gap is also reducing the number of workers available to support pensioners. The World Bank believes that most pension plans will run out of money due to this societal shift. Some nations like Japan are giving money to families to reverse this trend. To summarize, the cost of living crisis and career-focused youngsters are responsible for this issue. Society should focus on reversing this trend to preserve the current world order. Governments should encourage people to have children at an early age by providing monetary incentives.