The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the effect of industrialization, global developments in many sectors are increasing such as the car industry. Data has shown that number of cars on British roads in 2000 is calculated nearly 29 million which first appeared in 1888. Therefore, Regulations on vehicle ownership and use need to be applied along with the development of public transportation. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with the statement and elaborate on the details to support my arguments. Overloading vehicles can cause an environmental issue known as pollution. Air conditions in the city will be polluted by its emissions, furthermore, it would affect people's health because they will breathe the polluted air. For example, In Jakarta, as air pollution reaches a dangerous condition, the local government has applied several laws in order to limit the number of private transportation which is limiting the usage of streets by police numbers and has developed some infrastructures on public transportation. Furthermore, accidents on land mainly are caused by car crashes, one of the main reasons is that some of the people who drive are underage. According to that, Regulations towards car ownership and use need to be introduced to society. For example, recently, Indonesia requires to have a driving course before they apply to get a driving license, so if Indonesians are driving without having a license, they would get a ticket and need to pay. In conclusion, laws about road use and alternative to public vehicles need to be done by local government, and people need to work together to solve the problem. Moreover, not only will cause environmental damage, but also indirectly will affect social sectors.