More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the era of the exploding internet, online news has become more popular than newspapers. However, there are people who still emphasize that newspapers should be considered the most essential news supply. In my point of view, I partly agree with this argument. There are some reasons why people nowaday are seem to prefer internet news to traditional newspapers. Firstly, information updating speed is considered a key rationale for this assumption, a good telling example is the rapid speed of updating score in the world football match on sport news websites that helps people around the world catch up with the result in real time. Another reason is the convenience in the way of approaching news, one can read news anywhere or anytime with just a smartphone. In spite of the advantages that virtual news might bring, traditional newspapers are asserted as the main sources of information for some reasons proposed hereafter. First of all, the cost one pays for a newspaper is significantly affordable in comparison to internet news. For example, purchasing a newspaper only costs a tiny budget but when it comes to the online news, a smartphone or a laptop is required, however not everyone has the ability to purchase a technical device due to its prohibitive price. Another rationale that stimulates the affirmation of the importance of newspapers is its reliable information due to the censor stage which has always been a requirement in publishing that helps prevent the untrustworthy news. In conclusion, although newspapers have played an essential role throughout generations of human beings, everyone has their own choices on choosing which means they would use to approach the news. Therefore it is hard to say that newspaper is the most important source.