Companies now prefer to hire people with good social skills as well as good academic qualifications. Do you think that social skills are now getting more important than educational qualifications?

Due to the competition in the workforce today, it is imperative that applicants have a variety of strengths to help them stand out. Some people believe that businesses are more likely to hire individuals with good non-academic skills as well as more common schooling qualifications. Therefore, a candidate is no longer only assessed on the basis of academia, but also on the interpersonal merits they possess. The question is, which holds more importance? Having good communication skills is vital in all industries. People are required to interact with other professionals on a daily basis and thus they are required to possess attitudes namely patience, assertiveness and approachability. For example, in a hospital, a doctor is not only required to interact with patients but also nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, etc. Working in such a multidisciplinary team can create many chances of misunderstandings, which can be detrimental to patient safety. Therefore, it is of high importance that all members of the group are able to communicate effectively. But does this replace the need for a good education? The answer is no. Medical knowledge will always be the most important part of a doctor's skillset. For instance, a patient's diagnosis requires medical knowledge that can only be acquired through years of school learning. This also goes for other industries too, such as teaching, engineering and management. Having the knowledge cannot be replaced by the ability to ask for help or to delegate tasks. The only way a person is able to know if the responsibility they shared, is fulfilled, is if they know what outcome to expect. In my opinion, getting an educational qualification holds the most importance and social skills are secondary to it. Other skills are transferable and attainable during the course of the career, however, to begin the career will always require knowledge.